How to find vegan-friendly rodeo food – Houston Chronicle

You can order veggie tacos with beans, corn, greens, and salsa on a corn tortilla.

You can order veggie tacos with beans, corn, greens, and salsa on a corn tortilla.

Photo: KucherAV/Getty Images/iStockphoto

You can order veggie tacos with beans, corn, greens, and salsa on a corn tortilla.

You can order veggie tacos with beans, corn, greens, and salsa on a corn tortilla.

With over 300 vendors, you do not have to munch on grass like the show animals do. While you might not meet your macro-nutrient goals for the day, you can still eat a substantial amount of food without compromising your vegan lifestyle.

For a vegan, eating a double bacon cheeseburger with a funnel cake bun at The Lone Star Market does not exactly sound meat or dairy free.

Before you toss the idea of watching your favorite band or riding the Dizzy Dragon because of food restrictions, consider all options.

COULD OR SHOULD?: A vegan CAN find food to eat at the rodeo, but SHOULD they? An investigation into a vegan’s ethics at the rodeo at HoustonChronicle.com.

What can you eat?
Most deep-fried selections are vegan, so you do not have to shy away from fried cucumbers, pickles, zucchinis, tomatoes, onion rings, bananas, Oreos, French fries, or any of the veggies from Fried What!

As an entrée, find a stand that sells veggie burgers or tacos, just make sure you specify no cheese, mayo, or sour cream. You could also have a baked potato (without butter) and ranch beans (ask if there is meat in it). Or you can keep it simple with roasted corn and chili flakes.

Most people at the rodeo will be eating strange assortments of food, so if you end up juggling homemade potato chips, cotton candy, a churro, and Rainbow Ice flavored Dippin’ Dots, nobody is going to label you as the weird vegan who does not know how to eat.

What can you drink?
Water, lemonade, and almost all alcohol varieties are vegan. If you are ever unsure which drink is vegan, just ask if there is any dairy or honey added and decide from there.

If all else fails:
Remember anything that is labeled vegetarian can easily be made vegan with some tweaking.
If you are looking for an unanimously oil free, salt free, gluten free, soy free, sugar free, and nut free option, you can pack your homemade hummus with celery sticks, just make sure you keep it out of the NRG stadium. No outside food is allowed past that point.

NEWS WHEN YOU NEED IT: Text CHRON to 77453 to receive breaking news alerts by text message | Sign up for breaking news alerts delivered to your email here.